I was wide awake but I was feeling too comfortable to get out of bed.
A few minutes into my morning prayer time, I got distracted and started to worry about life.
I ignored the Holy Spirit’s prompting to do my devotion.
I brushed my teeth, said good morning to everyone and drank a hot cup of lemongrass tea.
After, I did a 30 minute Youtube fitness workout.
This workout always leaves my whole body sore but I have to keep fit so I am all for it, the pain, sweat and all.


Buzz! Buzz! I heard my phone vibrate, it was my sister.

“Hello Kwor!”

“Hi Keni!”

“The Holy Spirit just prompted me to call you, how are you doing?”

In a split second, my eyes welled up with tears, I tried to fight back the tears as I mouthed the words,”I am not okay.”

“Kwor, are you crying?”

The floodgates flung open. I was sobbing uncontrollably at the other end of the line.

“Awww Baby Kwor !”


She listened to me cry my heart out.
Then we had a conversation.
Keni encouraged me, reminded me of God’s promises and prayed with me.
The Holy Spirit had been encouraging me all morning but hearing the same words come from Keni’s mouth made me emotional.
Between Keni and me, everyone knows I am the hard girl, I barely cry unless it really hurts and that day, my heart was hurting, my mind was wandering and my faith in God was wavering.

Almost everything I had tried that week did not work out, I was tired of being hopeful, putting in effort and seeing zero results.
It had been weeks of filling out online job applications and forwarding my CV to companies.
Email notifications from recruiters and companies read,
“Dear Esasina,
Thank you for your interest in the xxxxxx role at xxxxx company.
At this time, we have identified more suitable candidates to pursue for this vacancy…”


The Holy Spirit, my Comforter


“God will come through for you.
There is a reason why God has you where you are at.
God has not forgotten about you.
You are not late, you are on time according to God’s calendar,
God’s promises are true.
He is not a man that He should lie.
Though it tarries, wait for it.
This wait is not in vain.
It will all make sense in the end.
Keep trusting God.”

Keni was repeating words I had recently been led by the Holy Spirit to write in my journal.
God is INTENTIONAL guys, He cares so much about us.
I was so down that day but He sent encouragement my way almost immediately.

Keni was not the only person who reached out to encourage me, someone shared an amazing dream he had had of me and another person randomly shared a sermon that spoke directly to my situation.



I know what it is like when your life is full of seemingly unending storms,
When there is barely any progress,
When you know what God has said and you are waiting for its manifestation.
Ha! Those can be very trying moments but do not let the devil win.
Cry if you have to,
But remember God’s promises are true.
God loves you so much whether you feel it or not.
Do not wallow in self-pity,
Reach out to a trusted friend , your pastor or a family member when you feel overwhelmed.

38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor principalities, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers,
39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Romans 8:38- 39 [Berean Study Bible]

Reach out to others


We shouldn’t take reaching out to others for granted. When the Holy Spirit prompts you to call, text or visit someone, please obey.
It may seem insignificant in your eyes but God prompted you for a reason.



Yep, so guess who is back applying for jobs, signing up for online courses, attending webinars and doing her best to prepare for God’s promises?

I will try again…


It’s Kwor!
Yep, we cry, we fail, we get up and try again.
God has got this so I will keep trusting Him.
I pray for anyone going through a rough time, may God strengthen you and may He envelope you in his love and mercy.
Be encouraged.
Take care guys.


Much love,
Esasina xoxo.

35 thoughts on “One phone call

  1. God is always on time and never late. Inasmuch as it is sometimes hard to understand life’s situation, we have to genuinely trust Him because He knows best! Such a beautiful piece Kwork…Thank you for sharing💕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jer 29:11 …I alone know the plans I have for you Saith the Lord…..
    And His thoughts and ways are not our thoughts and ways either
    God’s timing is the best ;remember all things work together for good for those who love Him
    The plans God has for you Esasina is greater than what you expect and your cup will overflow
    God bless you Kwor

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is me in your post, not even getting responses from job applications but I get to the state of worry and confusion and someone affirms that this is just God’s starting point, waiting is hard but that end which is to God’s glory will be immerse. Praying with you Kwor! God will cause things to work together for your good and He never fails. When you want to worry, praise him!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hmmmm
    Could this simply be a coincidence that I chance upon exactly what I’ve been faced with at the moment?!
    As questions such as what next? you’re getting no younger , what are you doing? what now? , completely overwhelm me on every side…NO definitely not a coincidence.
    Even in the midst of it all I strongly believe nothing happens for nothing sake neither does anything, no matter how insignificant it is, comes by chance.
    Thanks for sharing your story, your sister was led by the counsel of God to lift you up. I thank God that you shared this, now I can go through my day with absolute confidence in God of His plans for me.
    I thank God for your courage to sharing your story
    God bless you Kwor

    Liked by 1 person

  5. God is indeed intentional and he never fails! EVER! I went through a similar situation for about 7 months and just when I felt I’d give up God came through for me. I am certain He will do just as He’s planned for you and at the end of day it will all make sense.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you Kwor for the encouraging words. I’m experiencing pretty much the same thing and the rejection hasn’t been easy. Holding on to the promises of God. Truly He is not a man that He should lie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.