Our Bundle of Joy

Happy new year everyone, I hope you are keeping well.
I am nervous about today’s blog post, it’s an attempt to string you along a beautiful journey of God’s goodness.


I called and Facetimed Keni (my big sister) almost every single day during her pregnancy.


Hello Keni, how are you doing?
Have you eaten?
Did you sleep well?
What are you craving?
When is your doctor’s appointment?
Have you packed your hospital bag?
Is your back still hurting?
Do you feel like vomiting?


I asked all the annoying questions and often got on her nerves but yeah, what are sisters for?
We prayed for this baby daily and trusted God for the best.
I asked for the hospital location a month before she delivered and had my hospital bag packed a week before her due date. I was not going to miss the delivery of my first nephew.

A screenshot of our Whatsapp conversation.

Labour Contractions

The contractions began and Keni soldiered on as the pain intensified. I called her every hour to check in on her.
Around 4:30pm, Carl (Keni’s husband) drove her to the hospital to get her checked by her doctor.
After work, I grabbed some pizza and bottles of Coca Cola from Papa’s Pizza and headed straight to the hospital in an Uber (my nephew is on his way, forget trotro; public transport!)

Upon arrival, Keni was on her feet, pacing up and down the visitors’ lounge.
People flooded her phone with calls and my Mummy was constantly calling me via WhatsApp video for updates.
The nurse predicted that she would deliver after midnight so advised her to rest.

We were ushered into her hospital room, which thankfully had a spare bed. I struggled to look on helplessly as I watched my sister toss and turn, pull the hospital curtains, slap her thigh with her hands, grab the hospital beddings and take deep breaths with each intense contraction.
I was capturing the entire process on camera, I took videos and countless pictures, until Keni screamed in pain and COMMANDED me to put my phone down and rub her back.


For a split second, I froze, then my phone fell from my hands and I rushed to rub her back.
Who am I to disobey Keni at this juncture?

After midnight, the pain escalated and I was by her side, rubbing her back, shuffling through her Gospel playlist, encouraging her to be strong and capturing videos of her and Carl.
There was a praying army of pastors and loved ones supporting us all through the night, God bless you all.

A few hours after dawn…

‘ Kwor, hurry up, call me the nurse.
I can feel something moving.
I think it’s my baby’s head.
I feel like using the washroom,’ Keni uttered under her breath.


I rushed to call the nurse on duty.
The nurse opens her legs apart and examines her vagina and immediately prepares Keni for the labour room.
I call Carl from the car and he accompanies us to the labour room.
I am excited yet nervous, grabbing cot sheets and diapers for my soon-to-be nephew.

I sneak into the labour room with my phone camera ready to capture the moment.

‘3…2…1

Push Keni, you’re doing well.

I’m so proud of you, you’re doing great.’

Carl reassuringly said while gently stroking her hair and holding her hands.


I was at the foot of the bed, I saw the baby’s head come out, then his shoulders and finally the rest of his body.
Tears of joy rolled down my cheeks immediately I heard the baby’s loud cry.
The nurse lifted him and gently put him on Keni’s breast as Carl looked on with admiration.
In awe of what my eyes just witnessed, I managed to grab my camera and took my pictures.

God gave us a miracle,
A bundle of joy,
An answered prayer and we cannot thank Him enough.

Auntie Kwor in action

Everyone around me knows I love babies and children, but my nephew arrived and unlocked an immense level of love I cannot describe.
I’ll do anything for my nephew, I call him my Choup, (choupinette is translated as sweetheart/darling/sweetpie in French).
I’m always on the lookout for yoghurt, natural juices or a new toy for him, no matter what my budget for the week is, I’d break all the rules to give my Choup a treat.
It doesn’t help that he has the most adorable smile.
I hate to see him cry, sometimes at dawn when he fighting sleep, I usually put him at my back while securing him with cloth and rock him till he falls asleep, and like magic, he dozes off shortly.
I’ve finally mastered the art of successfully transferring him from your back to his cot.

I struggled to adjust to the new baby practices: tiptoeing when he is asleep, washing my hands frequently when I have to carry him, putting my phone on silent, closing the door gently and lowering my voice during phone calls.
I had to consciously make these part of my daily routine.


To keep him entertained, I’m either making funny sounds, drumming and clapping for him or composing baby songs on the spot.
Changing his diaper is easier now, I know which side goes to the back or front and I no more religiously use the diaper changing pad.
I’ve learnt to bath him and get him dressed in record time also.


I’m sure I have received the most kisses this past year, mainly from my Choup, I’m not complaining, totally love it!
The highlight of my day is watching him jump out of excitement when I return home in the evening, he literally follows me around (crawling or walking) till I finish washing my hands and can pick him up.
He gives my heart so much joy and I love him so much (I know I’ve said that already but yeah, I really do.)
I thank God for my Choup everyday, he is our bundle of joy.

In the arms of Auntie Kwor.

A Prayer for my nephew

Father in the name of Jesus, I thank you for the gift of life and for the life your son.
I pray that You will sustain this child and he will grow in wisdom and understanding.
May he be rooted in God and equipped for his God given assignment as he navigates life.
Father, please protect him from any harm and the devices of the enemy.
May this child be set apart for Your glory and honour.
Father, may you fight for this child and contend with them that contend against him.
I pray that this child will find favour with God and man.
His life will be a living testimony of God’s goodness and he will be a positive agent of change in his generation.
Amen.

With Love,
Esasina (aka. Auntie Kwor)

6 thoughts on “Our Bundle of Joy

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.