Happy New Year to everyone here!
Welcome to you my loves, since this is my first 2021 blogpost 🤭 .
I’m glad to be back here.
I missed every single one of you and a big hug to all first timers here.
How are we doing?

It’s a new year, right?
A new year will not automatically erase bad habits and inject new and healthy ones into your life.
Two six and loss please! (this is a Ghanaian slang meaning failed attempt).
New year, new me is cool but how about,
New year, sit down, think, restrategize and do better!


Ask the hard questions:
Why am I struggling to maintain my friendships?
Should I schedule weekly calls with my friends to catch up on life?
Why am I not saving every month?
Have I set unrealistic saving goals?
Do I have to order takeout daily or should I consider meal prepping for the week?
Why do I find it hard to do my devotion every morning?
Do I wake up early enough everyday?
Why do I stay up late watching series instead of getting enough sleep?


Case in point:
I fell in love with reading when I was in Junior High School, thanks to my Daddy.
When I set my mind to read, I enjoy the whole experience from scrutinising the book’s cover to reading the blurb
to falling in love with characters in the story…

I enjoy reading but I barely read much last year, even though I had so much time on my hands.
I made excuses and barely made any conscious effort to finish books I had set out to read in 2020.
This year, I am doing things differently…


Rekindling my love for reading.


a. Daily Reading Time.
I block out time daily to read before I go to bed in the evening or after my quiet time in the morning.
I always carry my book in my bag when I am stepping out so I get to read on my way to work, during lunch break at work
or whenever I have some free time.
On days when I forget to grab my hardcopy book, I read my ebooks on my phone.
The goal is to cultivate a reading habit; I read articles, ebooks, Twitter posts, Instagram captions (YEP!), aside my hardcopy books and my Bible.

b. Set a Realistic Reading Goal.
My goal is to read at least 2 hardcopy books every month because that is what works for me.
A friend of mine on Instagram has a reading goal of 4 hours daily and I love her zeal for reading.
Keep it up Auntie K 😘 !
Whether it’s a hardcopy book, audio book or ebook, I hope you enjoy reading.
Reading is not a race, whether you read 5 pages a day, 7 books a month, remember to enjoy the reading experience.
Do what works best for you and don’t feel pressured.

c. Find a Community or an Accountability Partner.
It’s so easy to make excuses and not take action, find a reading accountability partner or join a reading community.
My reading accountability partner does a good job with keeping me on my toes and motivating me to achieve my monthly goals.
Shout out to you darling.


Reading more in 2021 by Esasina
A rare photo of me reading my second book in January.


Today on my way to work in the trotro (public mini bus), I almost shed a few tears because the married couple in the book I am currently reading is going through a difficult phase in their marriage.
I’ve smiled broadly, laughed out too loud and shed a few tears because of intense drama brewing on pages of books.
I always feel heartbroken when I get to the last chapter of any book.

My love for reading has been rekindled and I am here for it!

Thank you for taking time out to read my blog, I really appreciate you.
Do you have any reading goals this year? What are you doing differently to read more this year?

PS. Please wear your nose masks.

Much love,
Esasina, xoxo.

3 thoughts on “Let’s read in 2021

  1. My reading goals haven’t changed much over the years even though I’m yet to meet any of it. I hope to read at least one book a month. I’m still behind on my January and February read. I’m hoping to use some of your tips.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.